How to Add/Edit a Narrative Report Summary
Admins and assessors can add narrative summaries to participant reports.
The narrative section in the report serves as a space to record an anecdotal summary of observations during or after the participant’s simulation. Narratives can be added or edited any time after the participant’s report has generated.
*Participants can see narrative reports by default.
Adding a New Narrative Report
1. Go to Analytics, and search for the participant using the filter.
2. Click Add Narrative.
* Only assessors who scored the participant’s assignments can add narratives.
3. Add a summary and the author’s name and company. Click Save. *The summary can be edited later.
4. The Narrative report tab appears in the online analytics. A new PDF will regenerate to reflect this in approximately 15 minutes. Click F5 to refresh your browser before downloading the regenerated PDF report. If you need to delete the narrative section, simply reopen the narrative text-editor window, delete all the text and any blank spaces, and save.
a. The new Narrative tab in online analytics.
b. The author and company show in the blue informational box above the narrative summary.
c. The narrative populates underneath the blue informational box.
5. The participant’s profile will update automatically.
Editing an Existing Narrative Report
There can be only one narrative, but admins and assessors may edit or add to an existing narrative.
*If the author and company is changed in the text-editor window, that is the only author and company that will appear in the blue instructional box in the analytics report. However, the participant’s history table in the user management section of the platform records an entry showing the actual platform user’s name, not the manually entered author, and time of the edit.
After a narrative is added, the Add narrative link next to the participant record changes to Edit narrative. Click Edit narrative to open the text-editor window. From there, you may edit existing narrative summary text, keep the author and company the same or enter a new one, and save. The narrative report will update in both the online analytics and PDF report (after about 15 minutes) in the same way as when adding a new narrative.
Customizing – Controlling the User Types Who Can View a Narrative Report
If you have access to the Customize module in the platform, you can control the user types who can view narrative reports in the Analytics section. By default, stakeholders, admins, and participants can view narrative summaries.
Create a new customized assessment normally, navigate to the Analytics tab, and uncheck any user types who you would like to be unable to view the narrative summary.